RSS

My Benefits of Social Media

16 Sep

Social Media is a group of Internet based apps that build off of web technological. It allows the exchange of user generated content. It is a cool and successful way to interact with peers, professors, employers, costumers, and so much more. In the more recent years, Twitter and Facebook became the major platforms for powerful sources like news updates. The list of social media sites include: Twitter, Facebook, Pintrest, Flickr, Foursquare, Google +, LinkedIn, StumbleUpon, Yelp, Klout, WordPress, and many more.

During the Spring of 2013 I will be graduating from Marquette University and I will be perusing a job in Advertising. There are many general benefits for social media in Advertising. My other passion is Theatre. No matter what career path I choose to go down, there are many ways to use social media.

Ideally, I would like to get an advertising job in the creative department of an advertising agency. For this career path, social media is effective because it gets the message out faster and, initially, to more people. It also helps with updates, grand openings, and product premieres. If it is executed in the correct way, it can help create trends of products. It can also be useful in more of a personal sense as well. If I ever become a freelance graphic designer, social media is a way to get my name out in the open and to get people to see my work. I could use twitter to post updates about my work or about some of my upcoming clients. WordPress, or any blog site could be useful to blog about my life and my career. I could talk about my kind of work and connect with people who do the same thing or who need someone to work with them. LinkedIn is a social media site that everyone can use for any career. If I keep my LinkedIn updated at all times, everyone that I am connected with will see what I am doing with my career. This could help me find future jobs in bigger fields. I could use Pintrest to put my work on and pin images that are similar to my work. This will help get my name out and my work out. If other people pin it, it can get around the world.

Many of theses options are also available for a theatre career too. I am a technical theatre major with an emphasis in scenic design. I would use all of my social media sites in the same way that I would if I were a freelance designer for advertising. In both situations, I think that it is important to be known for who I am and what I do. If I use social media in the correct way, I could be known worldwide for my work and my ideas.

I am going to be successful in my life because I am dedicated and a hard worker. In reality, I would like to do both advertising and freelance scenic design for the stage. I can do both if I am organized and if I use social media in ways that would benefit me in both careers.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 16, 2012 in Blog Posts

 

Leave a Reply

