RSS

Get a Job with the Help of Social Media

22 Oct

It is that time of the year when I, yet again, start to think more intently about my future and what I am going to do in order to find a job that I love. With this in mind, I thought that it was appropriate to post about how social media can help in finding a job and connecting with businesses. I found an article that talks specifically of this idea.

On October 19, 2012, Dubai Chronicles wrote an article titled, “How to use social media to find a job.” This article gives tips and techniques in how to do so. Many businesses use social media to find new employees and to determine who is right for the job. Social media is an important way to find employees because you can understand a candidate’s qualifications, interests, and ambitions in a way that you can’t always find out in a personal interview.

If it is the other way around and you are the one searching for the job, there are a couple things that you can do to make sure that your social media sites get noticed. Four steps include: creating a professional email, registering with LinkeIn, and building a network of contacts, and being active.

Creating a professional email looks good to the businesses your are seeking and it looks like you know what you are doing. This new email should include your full name in the address. This will make you easily recognizable and people will not have any problems getting a hold of you. The signature of your new email should include, a handwritten signature, a phone number, a website, and a blog.

LinkedIn is a platform that was created specifically for this reason, for employers to connect with future employees and vice versa. This will show your previous work, your potential, and most importantly, your personality.

Connect with people with the same interests as you, your ex-colleagues, and some businesses you want to work for. Keep these contacts and talk often in order to create a relationship that will help you throughout the rest of your career.

According to this article, being active is the most important advice. If you are posting on blogs and getting involved in job discussions, you will get noticed.

This was a great article to read. I am already doing a couple these things but I need to step it up. I think it is important to get involved and make sure my future employers can see what I do and that I am different from everyone else. I think that network connections are the most important things to have, especially in any communication based industry. If you have someone that you can reach out to and ask for his or her help, it makes all the difference. Also, if you have those relationships present on your LinkedIn, businesses who know that name will see that and get in contact with you.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2012 in Blog Posts

 

4 responses to “Get a Job with the Help of Social Media

  1. BrianaKing

    November 5, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    This is a great article for up coming college graduates. I have had personal experience with this topic. Just last month I followed a Twitter account that posted internships and job listings in the Milwaukee area. They tweeted about a marketing internship, I emailed the contact person, got an interview and eventually got the job. I ended up not accepting the offer due to another offer coming up but social media really helped me out. It allowed me to take the initiative and personally reach out to the employer which in the end made me look better.I was able to stylize my email as if it were a cover letter and add my email, my phone number and personal website. After this experience I immediately started following other Twitter accounts related to job postings in my field. I even recommended it to my friend not in the communications field and its worked for them as well! Social media has provided us with a quicker and easier way to job hunt and market ourselves.

     
  2. Raisa Collazo

    November 7, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    I completely agree with this. Another way to stay active in social media is Tweeting those professionals in the industry you are planning on applying, and following networks like Big Shoes Network. Also, it is good to join as may professional groups on LinkedIn like alumni groups or any other groups pertaining your desired field. I agree with Briana, social media has provided us with the luxury of marketing ourselves, and we need to take advantage of that because we are our own brand.

     
  3. mnorkett

    December 3, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    This blog caught my attention because I definitely agree that social media is helpful in getting jobs. I am graduating in two weeks so all I have been doing is applying to job through social media sites. Almost half the interviews I have gone to this semester have been for jobs I applied to through linkedin, careerbuilder, etc. Linkedin is especially helpful for connecting with alumni of Marquette and my high school. Twitter is also extremely helpful at finding jobs because it conveniently shows up on your newsfeed.

     
  4. Kayla Raguse

    December 4, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    I completely agree with the importance of building your own brand on social media in order to assist in your future career. I actually just got done coming up with a research question in which I had to find various sources for that had to do with people finding success using LinkedIn. In much of my research I found that it is crucial to address what exactly what it is you’re looking for. LinkedIn allows you to select various options that will tell people that view your profile what you are interested in being contacted for. I also found that it is important to include valuable information about yourself and your previous work experience but not to have too much. It is recommended that you steer clear of those jobs that have not actually helped you gain knowledge for your career path. On the counterpart, you also need to be sure that your information is not too little.
    I think LinkedIn is a great source to show your professional side but I think other social media tools such as blogs or twitter should be used in a more fun, relaxed professional manner. I think that when using social media sites you should always keep professionalism in mind, however, I also think it is important to show your creativity and fun personality. No one likes talking to a board.

     

Leave a Reply

