RSS

Sysomos – Social Media Monitoring at its Finest

18 Nov

I learned about Sysomos for the first time a couple of weeks ago and I did not know what it was. When I got to work with it, I understood how useful of a tool it could be for multiple applications. Sysomos is a social media analytics company that offers social media monitoring products that give corporations, marketers, public relations agencies, and advertisers the insight needed to make smart and strategic business decisions.

I got a chance to work with Sysomos for a project and I realized how easy it is to find out information about companies. I only used for a short time and I did not do too many things. I was researching the company Classic Slice Pizza in Milwaukee, WI. I got different search results depending on what I typed into the search. I finally realized that if I put “Classic Slice Pizza” in parenthesis I would get the correct results. For this particular company they did not have a lot of results or mentions on social media. I tried playing with some other companies too and it is amazing what they can find out.

Marketwire.com wrote an article about Sysomos last Thursday, November 15th. They wrote about their 20 Social Media Resolutions for 2013. This article talks about how important it is to use a monitoring company to track your social media mentions. They say that organizations that do not embrace and properly leverage social media will be eclipsed by those that do. Sysomos developed a social media resolution list to give companies the guidelines to become a social enterprise. These resolutions will help to increase brand recognition, make easier sales, and create more satisfied costumers.

Marketwire only gives five of the 20 resolutions in this article but they have a link to download a free copy of Sysomos’ full list of resolutions.

Their first resolution is that every business should determine what defines its own social media success. This includes social listening and setting specific, concrete and measurable goals. Resolution number two is that organizations should not try to be all things to all people. They should focus their social media efforts to the social channels that attract the demographic profiles of their target audience. Resolution number three is to monitor social media most often during an active marketing campaign. This will help your company to see people’s conversations and to find out what is working and what is not. This will help to strategies and achieve better results right away. The fourth resolution is to be consistent with fans. There is so much traffic on Facebook and Twitter and so many people have accounts that they never use, these people can be seen as inactive or fake. It is important to audit your fans regularly. The fifth and last resolution in this article is that if you are not in social media, you need to get on social media. A company that is not on social media runs the risk of losing their customers. If is important to be responsive, visible, and impactful.

I really liked this article and Sysomos in general because it does so much for social media and social businesses. It is an interesting site and it can make a positive impact on a company’s view of their social presence.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2012 in Blog Posts

 

5 responses to “Sysomos – Social Media Monitoring at its Finest

  1. 2181lindeng

    November 19, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    I agree that Sysomos was a great researching tool for social media usage. I used it for the first time yesterday when I was doing research on Discovery World. It was awesome. I could find demographic information, along with the top tweets and I could even see word clouds that showed the top words used for Discovery World. It was extremely useful and I felt like I could have been on that site for hours, but unfortunately we only had a few hours to use it. I would highly recommend this site and hopefully in the future I will be able to use it again.

     
  2. jlswenson

    November 19, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    I think, out of all of the social monitoring tools online today, that Sysomos is one of the best. It really gives you all of the available data that can be used to learn about what people are saying. I think the resolutions that were mentioned are good information to keep in mind as well. It is always good to try to be consistent as a brand on social media, just like traditional media. Trying to be too many different things for potential customers will likely result in posts and tweets that are all over the place and not consistent. This is not helpful at all. All social monitoring tools can be beneficial, companies just need to figure out which one is the most beneficial for their brand, and what they want to know about their customer base.

     
  3. kaitlynjean

    November 20, 2012 at 3:07 am

    I agree, what you can find out using Sysomos is awesome and could help a lot of companies with their social media monitoring. It is interesting because i had first heard about it in our Social Media class but lately many of my ADPR teachers have been asking us about social media and how companies can actually monitor what is going on our there on the web. I think it is really interesting how this is becoming a tool that all pr and communications people need to be aware of and i’m glad we all got a chance to experiment with it.

     
  4. 40deuce

    November 20, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Very glad to hear that you had such a great experience with Sysomos and our social media tip sheet!!

    Cheers,
    Sheldon, community manager for Sysomos & Marketwire

     
  5. kevobrien

    November 27, 2012 at 12:27 am

    I agree that Sysomos is a great tool. I think that measuring tools for social media, such as Sysomos, are extremely important. I know many times people think social media is not important and that it cannot be measured. But Sysomos provides validity for social media managers, and proof on whether they are or are not meeting their objectives. Essentially, Sysomos holds people accountable when it comes to social media. Though I am not saying that Sysomos data should be the end all be all, it does allow for people to see if they are meeting their objectives.

     

Leave a Reply

