RSS

LinkedIn Business News

28 Nov

Upon reading through some news articles, I came across one titled, “LinkedIn CEO: We’re Not Like Other Social Networks.” I read further to better understand what they were talking about.

LinkedIn is a business oriented social networking site similar to Facebook and Twitter. It was launched in 2003 and it mainly used by professionals and for professionals to better network themselves and their businesses. It has over 90 million users and is fast becoming a central marketing and networking tool for all businesses.

CNBC’s article, written in August 2012 by Javier David, is about how LinkedIn is totally unique and how they offer things that no other social media site offers. The two main points that set LinkedIn apart from others is their business model and their global reach.

Since the economy has been so troubled lately, LinkedIn’s CEO found that individuals and businesses were going to LinkedIn for help. The company’s global reach and focus on professional networking help businesses and individuals influence their networks to find work.

They seem to be doing everything right. The offer a similar community and sense of communications that other social media sites offer like Facebook and Twitter, but they have a business aspect that no other site has. The focus on finding people jobs and getting people connected.

LinkedIn is up to more than 175 million members and all of those members are connected to other people. That is a fraction of Facebook’s 1 billion users but LinkedIn’s emphasis on professional networking sets it apart.

I have always been interested in LinkedIn and I have had a LinkedIn since my senior year of high school. I was working for my mom and she asked me to set one up for her and I did the same for myself. I dug in deeper to see what it was all about. It has helped me stay connected to past employers and colleagues and I have been able to find companies on LinkedIn that I am interested to working for in the future. It is a great site and the professional aspect helps businesses to get a feeling for social media with out having to deal with all of the personal things that other sites offer.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2012 in Blog Posts

 

4 responses to “LinkedIn Business News

  1. jbergman0730

    November 28, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    One of my favorite features that Linkdin provides users is the ability to search for jobs and have your resume online for everyone to have access to, it really helps everyone get their name out there! I find it interesting that linkdin was started in 2003 but I hadn’t heard about it until a couple years ago when my professors started talking about it..maybe even last year! It really has recently taken off!

     
  2. jlswenson

    December 3, 2012 at 2:29 am

    I agree with you and Jen. I think that LinkedIn is a great networking site and the CEO has set it apart from other forms of social media. It really focuses on the business side of a person while also incorporating the personal side as well. All that I have been hearing over the past four years is connections are the things that get you a job, not necessarily your resume. I think that LinkedIn is really driving that point home, and assisting all people in making those connections.I think that in the future this connection theory will be ever more evident.

     
  3. elizabeth929

    December 7, 2012 at 3:36 am

    I agree that Linkedin provides a different approach to social media. One of the biggest differences I find is that on Linkedin you actually need to know the person to connect, where as on Facebook and Twitter you can literally connect with anyone. I also think that the tools and resources Linkedin has for its users are great. The ability to search companies and see job postings from various companies is a useful way to help with young professionals’ initial job searches. It furthermore provides you a way to link with people you meet at conferences in a more professional way than following he or she on Twitter.

     
  4. RayOC

    December 10, 2012 at 5:58 am

    There is no doubt that Linkedin is a great site to use to better your career. I think that its best feature is its networking capabilities. I recently set my Linkedin up and I have tried to visit it as much as possible and maintain my profile. I haven’t, yet, started using it for anything else but networking, however, that could change over time. Something that is kind of scary is that future employers might place more emphasis on a linkedin profile than a resume or cover letter. Just a sign that the times are changing and we need to adapt to that change.

     

Leave a Reply

